Question

tax exempt

• 4 November 2021
  • 18 replies

Badge

In my State, Oklahoma I am a veteran with tax exemption. It is illegal for a company who does business in state to charge sales tax for those of us with the tax card. I have had nothing but a run around trying to setup up my account to be tax exempt.

I even went to a corporate store which I can purchase things tax free but they have no idea how to make online purchases tax exempt. I have spent hours on chat support with them having no idea how to do it. 

The best I got so far is that I'll have to wait till my order ships and contact someone somewhere somehow and maybe get a bill credit. The problem is, as I said above it is illegal for a company who does business in Oklahoma to charge sales tax so getting a bill credit after the fact is not the same or legal.

I have been with almost every other cell carrier they all have a simple process to fill out a form and all purchases in store and online do not charge tax.

Same goes for every business but T-Mobile! With T-Mobile it seems no one has a clue, ability or the very knowledge to correct this.

I think my only option will be to file a complaint with the state tax commission. Maybe just maybe that will get TMobile to get a clue.

18 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +15

Online purchases are processed through Washington State.  By your own definition, tax examption only applies to purchases made by online services that are based within your state.  

Badge

I should clarify it is any business that does any business in Oklahoma no matter what State they are from.

If it was only tax for Washington they would not need to know your address to estimate the taxes they charge. Online businesses send the tax collected to the state of purchase.

Userlevel 7
Badge +16

the site here is primarily peer to peer with some TMO moderation to keep the site itself in order only..they do not have account access.

Badge