Question

Can't send Messages on Group chat on Samsung Galaxy Note 9

I have been noticing for a few months and not it has gotten worse. I receive texts on the group chat but I can't reply? what's happening? Samsung said it's T-mobiles fault and they have to fix it. It's really important and needs to get fixed!

12 replies

Userlevel 6
Badge +13

I don't have any issues with my Note 9, but I also have the chat functions disabled.  When disabled, it converts the messages to MMS for both incoming and outgoing.  This was the easiest solution to not needing to close and delete threads just to be able to start a new chat with someone that closed and or deleted the thread on their end. 

Are you running the latest firmware, 1ARL1?  You can find this in Settings, About Phone, Software Information, and under Service Provider Software Version.  Have you tried manually checking for updates if your device is not up to date?  In the Samsung Messages app under the 3 dots, Settings, and Chat Settings.  Do you have Send Read Receipt on, Multimedia Limit set to automatically send and receive all files, Image Size set to best available, , and Sharing Typing Indications set to on?  Including Alias is somewhat optional, but you might want to set that to on as well.  Personally, I have the three toggles set to off, which sends and receives my chat messages as MMS messages, but the Multimedia Limit and Image Size are both set as described regardless.

Userlevel 5

Hey @afaaqsiddiqui

Sorry to hear you are having issues with group messaging 😥 What specifically happens when you try to reply? Did you get a chance to read over @syaoran​'s reply? 

When I send a message on the group chat it fails to send it just keeps asking me to resend it. I have tried so many things but nothing works, I have temporarily switched to Google Messages app and It works perfectly fine. Please try your best to reach out to the developers to get this fixed asap. Yea I have read that but nothing works.