Solved

How to email MMS to phone?

• 17 March 2017
  • 22 replies

I'm new to T-Mobile, but I've Googled this question and read to use my phone number with @tmomail.net as the address to send to my phone.

Every time I try, it comes back with the 550 error.

What am I doing wrong?

icon

Best answer by cterrian 22 March 2017, 22:46

View original

22 replies

This basic functionality doesn’t work.  I recently attempted to use the @tmomail.net address and I get the “Your message couldn't be delivered. Despite repeated attempts to contact the recipient's email system it didn't respond” error message.  These attempts were made with 30 character messages.  I suspect it could be a hardware issue since I’ve noticed many incompatibilities between other cell phone company’s phones that have been brought over to TMobile.  Since some people’s combination of phones, email providers and internet providers are working, the ATTEMPT was made by TMobile to make this work like it does with other providers.

With reference to wharriso message above, I just sent a test message from my swbell.net Email which goes via yahoo and it got through.  My security system zooms in on the “person” it detects and the attached images are generally less than 100 Kbytes.  Most MMS providers seem to limit messages to about 1 Mbyte and generally a text without the MMS arrives telling you it was “too big”.

I suspect yahoo and hotmail and maybe outlook are being blocked.  swbell.net may be getting through because the domain name is different.

I basically only have a cell phone so my security system can send MMS messages with an image when it detects a person.  It was totally reliable when I first got the phone but it has not been reliable for quite a while now.