Solved

Note 9 October Update?

• 11 November 2018
  • 28 replies

Why didn't the Tmobile Samsung Galaxy Note 9 receive the October security update? Why are you guys so slow? and the Unlocked version also got the update for the Improved camera.

icon

Best answer by tmo_mike_c 27 November 2018, 16:06

View original

28 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +14

It will more than likely come out with the November patch in the near future.

I'd really love for TMo to finally push this update. They're lagging behind the other carriers and I can't use Linux on Dex until they finally push this update.

There is now a 2nd update (9.0.5). The T-Mo software update page does even list this phone's firmware as in testing or even in development. I am not a software developer or engineer but I do not see why compiling the updated firmware for the unlocked phones to the carrier phone should take so long.

I am disappointed buying a new phone on the day of it's release and 2 weeks later still having outdated firmware that is missing features. I hope this Oneplus/T-Mobile partnership does not result in the kind of slow and neglected updating that I have experienced with other carrier phones in the past.

I bought a new Note 9 for the express purpose of running Linux on Dex, and now I find I can't run it because they're lagging a month behind on a security patch.  They've got 10 days to release this patch, otherwise I'll return this new phone and get one from AT&T... NOT happy at the moment.

Userlevel 6
Badge +15

I know the release have been coming a little later then folks would normally like. From what I've gathered, it's been additional testing being done before it's rolled out. If I get any other info, I'll share it but I know it's coming.

I went to the T-mobile software update page. There is no update listed as in development or under testing for this phone.

The update finally came out a day or two ago.