Question

connecting wifi to a TV (Sony) SMART

Badge

I follow all the steps to have my tv recognize the new wifi and no connect happens have tried 12 time today alone.  any suggestions ????

13 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +11

Not sure about T-Mobile and new devices (outside of my phones/Macbook).  I have plugged the T-Mobile gateway into my existing WiFi router, so that I don’t have to make any network changes on my end, and everything just works as is (i.e. unplugged cable modem + ethernet jack, plugged in T-Mobile gateway + ethernet jack into WiFi router).

I get better range with my own gear, and a lot more control.

I got a new tv and want to know to know how to connect it to gateway so I can get rid of my cable company. I'm not good with electronics. 

Userlevel 5
Badge +7

@Greenhats Find the Network section in the TV’s settings menu.  Look for something like “Set up connection”.  Let the TV scan the available wireless networks.  Select your T-Mobile network and type your network password with the onscreen keyboard.

Greenhats here. I did everything you said and my tv will not connect to gateway. I tried 6 times. Should I be connecting anything to the back of the tv or should I have my internet line checked. Any suggestions

Userlevel 3
Badge +4

Hi @Greenhats, I’m assuming you are trying to make a wireless connection. I have a TCL Roku TV. Every smart TV is a bit different, but in my case the setup is Settings > Network > Set Up Connection > Wireless.  It will then scan for available networks.  Once you choose the “T-Mobile” network you would enter your network passkey. It should then connect to your network.  Are you getting an error message after entering your passkey?  There wouldn’t be anything that needs connecting to the back of your TV, unless you are making a wired connection (Ethernet).

Greenhats here