Question

Signal strength is maxed out, 5G UC...but terrible connection

• 16 September 2023
  • 6 replies

Badge

As a trucker, I am pretty much streaming all day off my phone connection (iheart or music) and occasionally it cuts out.  I look down, full 5g UC signal…..but can’t maintain the bit rate of a radio station.  These are MAJOR interstate corridors (Interstate 80, 5, 84, 40, 10). 

Then I park for the night off of these major freeways and use my home internet.  Again, excellent signal in the app, and yet currently at .4 Mbps down.  Can’t watch anything or play any online games with that.

Yes I have restarted all devices, multiple times.  I can’t always just keep driving or moving around because we’re on a clock.  I end up buying truck stop internet which is usually trash but better than .4 down.  And if I am buying it, whats the point of paying for my devices.

Am I just unlucky with tower issues or is something else going on?  Phone is Pixel 7 pro, home internet is 5G Gateway S1.  Tomorrow I’ll be 800 miles away in another state and it will be fine.  It’s nights like tonight that are really annoying.

6 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +11

Might be an issue (SoCal ?) in your area.   I suspect that being near the interstates may not help - esp in urban areas.

Badge

Might be an issue (SoCal ?) in your area.   I suspect that being near the interstates may not help - esp in urban areas.

1. was actually told the opposite, the interstates are covered nationwide.

I am also having connection issues too while on the freeway even with 5G and unlimited data.  It show no network/ poor connection when commuting and no connection even at home.