Question

Disable wifi and NAT on the TMO-G4AR device and use my own router.

Badge

I want to use my own router that has WIFI and also control band locking on the WIFI. There 40 - 50 WIFI APs all around me and there is too much interference on T-Mobile’s WIFI band selections. With my own router I can control the signal strength and exact frequency of my signals. I can also lock in the MAC Address to my devices. I also want to use my own NAT settings. With the G4AR, this would create a double NAT. 

I tried Hint Control and it is not designed for the G4AR. It messed up the settings and I had to do a manual reset. I do networking for a living for over 20 years. T-Mobile has everything locked up to their advantage and not for the better interest of their customers. I guess they want to make it dummy proof. But everybody is not a dummy.

I tried the Cudy P5 5G gateway and the TMO sim will not work. You need to get a enterprise sim. Nothing else will work. 

4 replies

Userlevel 5
Badge +6

What you are asking for is a “bridge mode” option on the Tmobile gateway but unfortunately it does not exist and there are no indications that feature is coming in the future. Your only options are:

1. Run your own router in AP mode but you lose most of the advanced features that you mentioned above, but at least you can control your wifi channels and bands.
  2. Run your own router in DHCP mode which creates a “double NAT” layer but gives you full access to all of your router’s features.

I opted for #2 above using an Asus mesh system and haven’t had any issues with double NAT. However I don’t play online games and others in this community have reported various issues.

One expensive option is to buy your own gateway that supports bridge mode and go through some gymnastics with Tmobile support to convince them to support a non-mobile gateway. There is a YouTube channel from “natertater” and he seems to have figured out how to do this.

Badge