Question

horrible upload speed

• 30 April 2022
  • 5 replies

Badge

Ok so I’m new to T-Mobile home internet but I’ve came across a issue. I’m getting 4-12 ping, 130-190mbs download, but I’m only getting around 3-4.8mbs upload, that is thru Ethernet, if I go to WiFi the numbers are the same beside upload goes up to 5.2-8.3mbs…. What could be going on? Phone support was no help at all. 

5 replies

Userlevel 1

I found the same problem. I also found since getting T Mobile I don’t have service where I used to with Verizon?? And I have the iPhone 12 Pro Max, so not an old phone. 

Userlevel 7
Badge +8

With the T-Mobile cellular solution they use both 4G LTE and 5G NR channels. The primary “channel” or cellular signal is 4G LTE which is commonly used, according to all I have come across, for the upload functions. I suggest you download the T-Mobile home internet management application to your phone and get the connection metrics. The application is a bit finicky as sometimes it works and at others it just crashes or freezes but when it works you can get the cellular metrics and post those in the conversation. If you have the Nokia GW you can best obtain the cellular metrics from the device by using a browser and local client. The Arcadyan gateway metrics are available via the mobile application.  If the 4G LTE signal metrics are poor, and depending upon the band the upload being poor can probably be explained. There are different 4G frequencies T-Mobile uses for the primary signal. Band 2 or Band 66 appear to be the best to have for upload speed due to the frequency characteristics.

• Frequencies that can provide LTE:
    • Band 2 (1900 MHz)
    • Band 5 (850 MHz)
    • Band 4 (1700/2100 MHz)
    • Band 66 (Extension of band 4 on 1700/2100 MHz).