Question

Downgrade to WPA2

• 21 December 2022
  • 8 replies

Badge

How do I downgrade to WPA2.  I am not tech savvy.

8 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +8

If you need to change the WPA2 authentication type to WPA you need to use the T-Mobile home internet mobile application. The one you used to setup the gateway. If you are connecting a printer or some other device on the 2.4 GHz band you can do so on that band alone. It probably is WPA2 - WPA3 by default. Once logged in as admin you can select the 2.4 GHz band and change the authentication type to WPA - WPA2 and save or apply that change. Once that is done clients will be able to use WPA or WPA 2 to join that frequency. If you just want to add an additional SSID, network name, to the 2.4 GHz and leave the original settings you can do that by using the + symbol at that 2.4GHz radio channel. 

1. login to the mobile app as “admin”
  2. select “Network” from the bottom bar of the app
  3. select the “Frequency band: 2.4 GHz
  4. change the authentication type to WPA/WPA2
  5. Save
Badge

Thank you, I can’t wait to try it.  If it doesn’t work I will probably have to give up the internet.  I will let you know how it goes!

Userlevel 7
Badge +8

If you have to get T-Mobile support on the phone and see if they and walk you through it. If you have an Android phone the mobile application works pretty decent. I have an iPhone and it just does not like to work on an iPhone. I was going to try to make you a couple of screen clips so you can see what to expect but the application is not willing to play right now. It can be a bit flakey on an iPhone it seems.

Badge

Thanks, I will do that if need be.  Unfortunately, I do have an iphone.

Badge

I would love screen shots if you could!

Userlevel 7
Badge +8