T-Mobile Home Internet Review

• 10 March 2021
  • 19 replies

Userlevel 2

I have been using T-Mobile Home Internet for a couple of months now. I recently upgraded to the 5G Gateway, which has made my WiFi much better Vs. the LTE Gateway which sucked and had a lot of restrictions. The 5G Gateway is sleek, easy to use, and comes included with your Home Internet Plan! My experience has been exemplary, apart from a few issues.

I have the following issues with T-Mobile Home Internet:

•No UPnP Option which causes issues using XBL. 
•No Port Forwarding which causes a Moderate NAT on XBL

•Some VPN applications do not work.

•The Online GUI is limited and watered down. T-Mobile should really fix these issues, as it’s bothering other Customers as well. Overall T-Mobile Home Internet is great for those who don’t play on XBL, PSN, or PC or require a VPN to be used for work or personal use.

19 replies

Userlevel 2

*EDIT* I meant to say “or DONT require a VPN for work or personal use.”

I use a VPN all of the time and I have had no issues with it other than a minor slow down in connection speeds, which is to be expected. I didn’t have to make any setting adjustments to make it work. The only thing that was needed from time to time, is that you might have to use specific VPN servers for certain applications or websites to work. But this is a common problem most have when using a VPN regardless of isp.

The only issue I had was with my voip phone modem. When connected directly to the gateway it had a tendency to drop calls. I then connected my old router to the gateway and then connected the voip modem to it and the problem went away.

I’m still waiting for T-Mobile to add Port Forwarding to this device. I returned the unit I bought and I cannot purchase this home internet service with the lack of Port Forwarding…

Are you listening T-Mobile…???

Userlevel 5
Badge +5