$10 surcharge for credit card payments

Badge

I just saw my first bill without autopay discount for credit card payment. My wife and I are retired and on a fixed income. This $10/month is meaningful to us. I worked in banking for nearly 40 yrs. It can only cost a merchant with T-mobile’s volume ~2% for credit card processing. That’s less than 2 bucks. We will be shopping alternatives. Shameful!

12 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +14

Verizon only gives an autopay discount if use their credit card. Not sure about AT&T. All the MNVO’s will be cheaper but most don't have roaming agreements and limited customer service.

Userlevel 2
Badge

Don't forget to take the autopay option off. Then, go on paying your bill by your due date with your credit card. When you have autopay on, T-Mobile has your money for 2 days before your due date. Now they will not, and I will be paying with my credit card and in so doing, have another layer of security to help guard against additional security breaches. Plus, I will still have the cell phone insurance provided by my credit card. I went a step further and filed a complaint with the FCC. The FCC had T-Mobile call me. Though this may not get my discount back, they will find it costlier than they thought. They have had to dedicate resources for the FCC complaints since T-Mobile has had to contact me twice so far then get back to the FCC, they have lost 2 days of having my money, they don't like the damage to their image that this is costing them (no more uncarrier, just another money grabbing cell company),. And now, the spotlight is on all of their security breaches. The more FCC complaints are filed against T-Mobile, the more personnel they will need to handle them (and yes, it is the FCC, NOT the FTC). The $5 discount per line will soon be sounding like a great deal for them.

Badge

What would basis/process for filing FCC complaint?