Solved

Router suggestions for adding to the 5G gateway

• 30 August 2023
  • 7 replies

Badge

Wondering what anyone who has added their own router to the 5G gateway have gone with. I want to be able to adjust the packet size and am looking to lower latency. I mean, I have really good latency at the moment, but do notic sometimes when streaming NetFlix or whatever, there is some “skips”? in the audio. Just like a 1/10th of a second little blips but definitely noticeable. 

I’m no pro but I’m pretty sure I want OpenWRT with the ability to run SQM and at a minimum, be bale to dictate my packet size. 

Also would like to not have to break the bank. 

icon

Best answer by dankehoe1 7 September 2023, 22:37

View original

7 replies

Badge

Awesome. Great forum. 

I myself have added my dplink Archer AX1500 (one mesh/wi-fi6 router) which has tri-core cpu, gigabyte lan/wan ports, beam forming wi-fi, ect, and have pretty decent experience with it, keeping the same speed results during speed tests with  fast.com, speakeasy.com/speed test, internet frog, and Ookla speed tests that i did while directly connected to the t-mobile gateway itself (yes various tests were performed while connected with both lan-ethernet, and wi-fi type connections) dp link routers have always been pretty good to me, and it has all the functions and settings that have been requested here in the forums, and then some! just a suggestion, I've been a computer technician for over 20 years and boast a cisco networking certification, and have had experience with a plethora of different brands of routers, and dplink has by far been the best brand to me (using the web or app gui user friendliness, and controllability, and performance/reliability factors all used as a basis, so not really a suggestion based on bias, but rather from a lengthy experience based point of view, hope that's helpful, their routers are actually pretty affordable too!