Solved

Does the NOK 5G21 Gateway have a bug in the LAN connections?

Badge

See this for an intro:

I have reason to suspect a problem or bug when a device is connected to a LAN port, It see regular intermittent “No Internet” status. Yet other devices connect to the gateway over WiFi seem very stable.

Could this really be a problem that has not been noticed before? seriously?

I’m no stranger to this, I studied electronics and telecoms, and have worked in software for decades, I’m not as up to date as I could be by I’m also far from being a novice…

A wifi connected Windows Surface displays a connected icon in task bar all the time, But the LAN connected Windows PC shows the globe symbol repeatedly as the connection is lost and reestablished.

So what I thought was a gateway issue, loss of 5G signal etc, looks now to be nothing of the sort, it could be a problem in the LAN manager part of the gateway...

icon

Best answer by rockstr 9 June 2022, 07:43

View original

13 replies

Badge

The cable being used now in a test is white, 4ft long, flat CAT.5E this cables works fine when used with the my WiFi extender that’s connect to our DSL system. But the same cable used to connect to the gateway sees up/down, up/down, up/down errors over and over,

I have a lot of cables around here and believe this is the one included with the gateway.

At the same time, my Surface is connected to the gateway by WiFi and is solid, seeing a continuous connection, streaming a radio service in which is playing fine…

One more detail, when I set this up this morning I used that cable and initially saw total stability as I Played around with it all for an hour or so. The I repowerd the device as I was doing stuiff and the instability was there.

Badge

Tried a CAT 6 cable, same problem. The PC network card just reports connection established at 1Gbps then a few secs later disconnected, over and over...

Userlevel 4
Badge +3