Solved

Problem with gateway losing just 5G signal

• 4 July 2023
  • 8 replies

Badge

I've been using T-Mo Home Internet for over 3 years. I finally got good, continuous service after switching to the black Arcadyan gateway. BUT, I recently moved, and the aggravation has returned, with (so far) no help from T-MHI engineers.

I am literally 400 feet from a highrise with a T-Mo 5G tower (it's 20 floors higher than I am), AND less than a 1/5th mile line-of-sight away from a 2nd T-Mo 5G tower! 

However, the gateway (I'm on my 3rd one) keeps LOSING the 5G signal! This happens unexpectedly, even though the gateway shows 5-bar (excellent) signal strength on the front info screen AND in the T-MHI app!

Has anyone else experienced this? Did you find a fix/solution? I'm thanking you in advance for any help! 

icon

Best answer by WhiteDolfin 8 July 2023, 05:42

View original

8 replies

Userlevel 5
Badge +8

@WhiteDolfin Can ou note the tower # from your TM Internet app, then check which tower you are connected to using cellmapper.net? You may be connected to another tower than the one closest to you. 

Looking at your gateway metrics using the TM internet app - More > Advanced cellular metrics > 

5G:

RSRQ -

RSRP -

SINR -

Band - 

Badge

@copz1998 , how do I look up the tower # for the tower that my 5G connection is connected to?

Under Advanced Metrics, I see there are two tabs: one for LTE and one for 5G. Under LTE, there is the CGI (Cell Global Identity) which shows a number. Under 5G tab, I do not see any field that is for cell tower identifier. I see only the following fields:

RSRQ

RSRP

SINR

BAND

I imagine that what the app identifies for my LTE connection is not the same tower as that for the 5G?

Userlevel 5
Badge +8

@CStar the cell tower location and advanced metrics are two separate items. I wanted to see what your cell metrics show for signal strength and signal to noise reference. What are the numbers in your 5G fields?