Question

Problem with high latency/ping

• 11 February 2022
  • 6 replies

Userlevel 1
Badge

Hello all. We received our 5g Gateway two days ago and so far, have big problems.  We’ve been testing our latency and speeds over and over at https://www.speedtest.net and have observed the latency/ping on both our Windows 11 PCs is consistently between 40-60ms, at all hours of the day and night.  Download varies between 160mbps and 0.5mbps.  Upload is steady around 20-40mbps.

We have done the following:

• Moved around the Gateway to many different areas of the house, tested the results at Speedtest.net, and selected the best area (3 bars).  Oddly, this is NOT close to a window, but in the middle of the kitchen.  (Yes, I am an RF engineer and I know how nuts that is.  Makes zero sense to me, but that’s what our results repeatedly demonstrate.  Regardless, ping is the same everywhere in the house.)
  • Downloaded and run TCPOptimizer
  • Rebooted our machines several times
  • Contacted Tech Support, who said something about “keeping an eye on the tower” and promised to call us back in 24 hours.  (It’s now been 24+ hours.)

Does anyone have ideas to help us lower this ping?  It’s severely interfering with video calls and online gaming.

Thank you!

6 replies

@dreaminggates  I don’t have an answer for you but this has been my internet experience:

I have been with T-Mobile since last October, about 3-½ months. 5G isn’t available in my area to everyone so they gave me a 4G gateway. My ping was in the 30’s and 40’s ms. I had the gateway in the upstairs window facing the tower it’s connected to less than a mile away. I only had 3 bars at best. My speed was between .25mbps and 10mbs. Averaged about 7mbs. These are not the advertised speeds and there was nothing customer service could do to get me better speeds.