Question

can the following features be added to the 5G Home gateway?

• 4 November 2021
  • 6 replies

Badge

I am a network engineer. I’d like to be able to adjust many things on my network. Because I live in a rural area and this Internet is much better than the local wired Internet.

The following features need to be added to future firmware. 
First: device renaming. Giving everything a generic name and not allowing me to change it so I can monitor my devices has to be fixed.

Second: better firmware upgrade options. Right now you have to search the Internet to even know if there is a new firmware then download it and upgrade your device. Most devices today automatically check the server and can do the install right from the server.

Third: QOS! I have wired devices that need more bandwidth when utilized and I need to QOS that. Almost all of today’s home routers have QOS ability.

Fourth: notification settings. I need to be notified if a new device is trying to connect either to the management or as a new Wi-Fi device. Almost like adding 2FA to the device.

Fifth: a better web interface. The current interface is lacking a lot of ability. I cannot list my devices nor can I really manage the unit well. The mobile device is a lot better.

The software seems rushed and not well tested. I volunteer to become a beta tester and to work with the network people to really make this a great communication device.

6 replies

Userlevel 2
Badge